Support IDA

2020 Global Conference

Under One Sky Graphic
Under One Sky: 2020 Global Conference
November 13 & 14 

Responsible lighting and access to the night and its star-filled sky is a human right. Around the world, light pollution is destroying ancient traditions and knowledge systems. Overlighting in cities and communities poses a significant problem for the people living there. This year’s conference will focus on the environmental and cultural threat that light pollution poses to people who have been underrepresented in the work to protect the night from light pollution – and invite discussions about how to address these threats.

This year – we’re going virtual!
Each year The International Dark-Sky Association brings together its members from all over the world for our Annual Conference. This year, we are very excited to take this important event directly to our international audience by hosting a virtual conference and allowing our global network to safely and conveniently connect from home.

Registration is free but required.

Speakers
We are bringing together a diverse variety of storytellers from around the world that will emphasize the stories and voices often underrepresented in the dark sky community.

Annette S. Lee

Annette Lee is an astrophysicist, artist, and Director of the Native Skywatchers research and programming initiative. She will present a keynote session titled, “Wicaŋhpi Oyate (Star People) Under One Sky”. The presentation will focus on Indigenous Astronomy worldviews, particularly Ojibwe and D(L)akota, and how people from all cultures might look to this relationship with the sky as a reminder of the critical importance of the night and its star-filled sky. Learn more about her and the session here.


More speakers coming soon…


Schedule

Sessions will happen across 24 hours in three different global time zones beginning with a global opening on Friday, November 13 at 1:00 PM PST (4:00 PM EST, 21:00 UT). Then the conference will move to three regional breakout sessions on Saturday, November 14, each two hours long. Then, conference attendees will come back together for a global closing session at 1:00 pm PST (4:00 pm EST, 21:00 UT/London).

 

Global Opening Friday, November 13th

1:00 PM PST

4:00 PM EST

9:00 PM GMT/UTC

8:00 AM AEDT (November 14th)

Australasia Saturday, November 14th

6:00 PM PST (November 13th)

9:00 PM EST (November 13th)

2:00 AM GMT/UTC

1:00 PM AEDT

Europe, Middle East, Africa, India Saturday, November 14th

1:00 AM PST

4:00 AM EST

9:00 AM GMT/UTC

8:00 PM AEDT

North and South America Saturday, November 14th

10:00 AM PST

1:00 PM EST

6:00 PM GMT/UTC

5:00 AM AEDT (November 15th)

Global Closing Saturday, November 14th

1:00 PM PST

4:00 PM EST

9:00 PM GMT/UTC

8:00 AM AEDT (November 15th)

We look forward to virtually connecting with you for the 2020 Global Conference!

 

Note: We are looking forward to a live gathering in the fall of 2021 in San Antonio, Texas! 

Like this post? Share. Email. Print.