International Dark-Sky Association Recognizes 2017 Award Winners

International Dark-Sky Association Recognizes 2017 Award Winners Thumbnail

IDA Awards recognize and share the exemplary achievements of individuals and groups who are committed to our mission. U.S. and international dark sky heroes are recognized for their contributions to combatting light pollution. The 2017… Read more

2017 IDA Award Winners

2017 Award Recipients Crawford-Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award The Crawford-Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award commemorates IDA Co-Founder and former Executive Director, Dr. David L. Crawford, and IDA Co-Founder and former President of the IDA Board of Directors… Read more

7 Dark Sky Highlights of 2015

7 Dark Sky Highlights of 2015 Thumbnail

1.   17 New International Dark Sky Places Our International Dark Sky Places program had another record breaking year. We designated 17 new Dark Sky Places, breaking 2014’s record of 13! The new Dark Sky… Read more

IDA Welcomes New Board Members and Says Goodbye to Old Friends

IDA Board President Jim Dougherty recognizes outgoing IDA Board Member Jim Benya for for his years of service to IDA.

IDA is excited to welcome four new elected board members. Each new member brings unique perspectives, talents and backgrounds to our organization. We are so grateful for their willingness and passion to serve IDA’s mission… Read more

IDA Honors Dark Sky Advocates

Bill Wren of the McDonald Observatory in Texas recieved the Hoag-Robison Award from IDA Board President.

Every year volunteers from around the globe show remarkable dedication and initiative in supporting the IDA mission. The IDA awards program recognizes individuals who have given generously of their time to dramatically improve our nighttime… Read more

IDA Receives National Environmental Award

IDA Receives National Environmental Award Thumbnail

The International Dark Sky Places Program is Recognized for its Innovative Efforts TUCSON, Ariz. (30 April 2015) –The International Dark-­Sky Association is honored to announce that it has received a 2015 National Environmental Excellence Award… Read more