Support IDA

Find an IDA Advocate

IDA’s Advocacy program is made up of IDA Chapters, Delegates, and Affiliates around the globe.

IDA’s grassroots advocate network is a nimble and effective distributive network, capable of sharing best practices and tools while remaining locally attuned to specific geographic, political and demographic needs.

Our program empowers a network of advocates across the globe, find one near you! And learn more about how you can join IDA’s advocate network.

IDA Advocates

Map loading, please wait ...

IDA Chapters

Statewide Chapters

Name of Chapter Chapter Director Chapter Website Email State
IDA Colorado Ryan Parker idacolorado.xyz ryan.parker@darksky.org Colorado
IDA Connecticut Leo Smith   leo@smith.net Conneticut
IDA Massachusetts James Lowenthal https://idamass.wordpress.com IDAMassachusetts@darksky.org Massachussets
IDA Missouri Donald Ficken darkskymissouri.org idamissouri@darksky.org Missouri
IDA Montana John Ashley montana.darksky.ngo idamontana@darksky.org Montana
IDA Ohio Terry Mann ohio.darksky.ngo IDAOhio@darksky.org Ohio
IDA Oregon Bill Kowalik darkskyoregon.org idaoregon@darksky.org Oregon
IDA Pennsylvania Michael Lincoln https://www.idapgh.org/ mikelincoln@mac.com Pennsylvania
IDA Texas Cindy Cassidy texas.darksky.ngo idatexas@darksky.org Texas
IDA Utah Aaron Dekeyzer utah.darksky.ngo idautah@darksky.org Utah

Regional Chapters – USA

Chapter Name Chapter Director Chapter email State
Flagstaff Dark Skies Coalition Lance Diskan & Christian B. Luginbuhl info@flagstaffdarkskies.org Arizona
IDA Phoenix Robert Hobbins idaphxarea@gmail.com Arizona
IDA Pinal County, Arizona Keith Krueger pinalida@q.com Arizona
IDA Southern Arizona Joe Frannea joef@sa-ida.org Arizona
IDA California Jack Sales jesales@surewest.net California
IDA San Bernardino County, California – High Deserts Region Tom O’Key scdvainfo@gmail.com California
IDA San Diego County, California Lisa Bruhn sandiegoida@yahoo.com California
IDA Santa Barbara County, California Nancy Emerson fnemerson@comcast.net California
IDA Santa Cruz, California Mark Buxbaum idasantacruzca@gmail.com California
IDA Dark Sky Lake Worth Richard Stowe
Alice McCall
darkskylw@gmail.com Florida
IDA Florida Diana Umpierre, AICP, GISP NightSkyConservancy@gmail.com Florida
IDA South Florida Bryan Bodie
Eric Vandernoot
info@idasouthflorida.org Florida
IDA Hawaii Howard Wiig & Dr. Richard Wainscoat hwiig@dbedt.hawaii.gov
rjw@ifa.hawaii.edu
Hawaii
IDA Central Illinois Jesse Hoover hooveje@gmail.com Illinois
Northwest Illinois Zoran Perovanovich perovanovich@me.com Illinois
IDA Erie and Crawford County Susan Campbell erieskies@gmail.com Indiana
IDA South Central Kentucky Christine Humphrey helpfulhumphrey@gmail.com Kentucky
IDA Berrien County Kelly Schmitt Youngberg kellyyoungberg@gmail.com Michigan
IDA Duluth, Minnesota Cindy Hakala gent0040@umn.edu Minnesota
IDA New York Susan Harder sharder@optonline.net New York
IDA Westchester County Charles Fulco saros61@gmail.com New York
IDA North Carolina Prof. Daniel B. Caton catondb@appstate.edu North Carolina
IDA South Dakota Diane Knutson info@darkskymovement.org North Dakota
Pennsylvania Outdoor Lighting Council (POLC) Stan Stubbe polcouncil@gmail.com Pennsylvania
IDA Central Tennessee Joseph Boyd boydjoe@alumni.vanderbilt.edu Tennessee
IDA Western Tennessee Rebecca Love darksky@aberevol.net Tennessee
IDA Virginia Laura Kitchin Greenleaf & Laura Graham laura@darkvirginiasky.org Virginia
Dark Skies Northwest David Ingram ingramdw@hotmail.com Washington
IDA Washington, D.C. Milt Roney mjroney@starpower.net
Washington, D.C.
Geneva Lake Dark Sky Initiative Colin Griffith colingriffith94@gmail.com Wisconsin

Regional Chapters – International

Chapter Name Chapter Director Chapter email Country
IDA Tasmania Landon Bannister Landon.Bannister@southernlighting.com.au Australia
IDA Victoria Australia Tony Wolfe wolfey@dcsi.net.au Australia
IDA Austria Dr. Günther Wuchterl
Verein
verein@kuffner-sternwarte.at Austria
IDA Québec, Canada Eric Ladouceur info@IDAQuebec.org Canada
IDA Southern Alberta Jennifer Howse jihowse@ucalgary.ca Canada
The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada
  dsp.coordinator@edmontonrasc.com
lightpollution@edmontonrasc.com
Canada
IDA Beijing, China Ruoyu Li starrrryl@gmail.com China
IDA Guangdong Province, China Daobo “Paul” Zhang paulzhang98@163.com China
IDA Shanghai, China Fei Guo guofei@hotmail.com
fei.guo@139.com
China
Dark Sky Cyprus Phedias Hadjicharalambous Info@cyprusastronomy.org
phediascao@gmail.com
Cypress
IDA Czech Republic Dr. Jan Hollan hollan@ped.muni.cz Czech Republic
Dark Sky Greece Andreas Papalambrou coordinator@darksky.gr Greece
IDA Hungary Zoltán Kolláth zkollath@gmail.com Hungary
IDA India Arun George idaindiachapter@gmail.com India
IDA Punjab Jaskaran Singh jaskaran140391@gmail.com India
Dark Sky Ireland Albert White info@darksky.ie Ireland
IDA Mayo, Ireland Georgia MacMillan mayodarkskies@gmail.com Ireland
IDA Israel Ido Bareket info@bareket-astro.com Isreal
IDA Italy Dr. Mario Di Sora mario.disora@himail.biz Italy
IDA Tokyo, Japan Nobuaki Ochi ochi@idatokyo.org Japan
Light Pollution Awareness Group Alexei Pace alexei.pace@gmail.com Malta
IDA México Fernando Ávila Castro favilac@astrosen.unam.mx Mexico
IDA Daegu GyeongBuk Korea Wonkil Jeong david@dhu.ac.kr South Korea
Dark Sky Switzerland Lukas Schuler office@darksky.ch Switzerland

IDA Delegates

Name State Country
Steve Carhart Alaska USA
Dave Inman Arizona USA
Jeremy Evans California USA
Shreenivasan Manievannan California USA
Roger Smith California USA
Ron Fairbanks Florida USA
Steven Miller Florida USA
Ed Magowan Florida USA
Steven Holland Florida USA
Michael Marlin Idaho/Hawaii USA
Audrey Fisher Illinois USA
Rosalia Lugo Illinois USA
Adam Kreuzer Illinois USA
Ken Walkzak Illinois USA
Kevin Foster Maine USA
Abdul Dremali Massachusettts USA
Robert Parrish Michigan USA
Robyn Porteen Michigan USA
Mike Shaw Minnesota USA
John Ashley Montana USA
Jenna Bartaja Nebraska USA
Chad Tolly Nebraska USA
Kevin Swartz Nevada USA
Simon Weisenhorn North Carolina USA
Patrick Sommer North Dakota USA
Bryan Boulanger Ohio USA
Mike McKeag Oregon USA
Dawn Nilson Oregon USA
Grant Tandy Oregon USA
Bill Michaud South Carolina USA
Alex Warren South Carolina USA
Bridget Langdale Texas USA
Anne Uyeda Virginia USA
Joyce Harman Virginia USA
Michael Lewis Virginia USA
Ricardo J. Tohmé
  Argentina
Alejandro Sommer
  Argentina
Vitor Barbato Honorato
  Brazil
Nancy Calderon (The Calderons Band)
  Canada
Exodus CL Sit   China
Osama Fathi   Egypt
Megan Eves   England
Sujay Patil   France
Martin Lovekosi   Germany
Sergio Montufar   Guatemala
Andrea Gutierrez
  Guatemala
Hamed Mirzakhalil
  Iran
Samyukta Manikumar
  Kenya
Erick Gomez   Mexico
Kyra Xavia   New Zealand
Dajana Bjelejac   Serbia
Eranga Jayashantha
  Sri Lanka
Mike Joy   Wales

IDA Affiliates

Name of Affiliate Affiliate Director Contact Information State Country
Arkansas Natural Sky Association Bruce McMath bruce.mcmath@gmail.com Arkansas USA
The Texas Night Sky Festival Cindy Cassidy clc.tnsf@gmail.com Texas USA
Wyoming Stargazing Samuel Singer Samuel@WyomingStargazing.org Wyoming USA