Support IDA

Find an IDA Advocate

IDA’s Advocacy program is made up of IDA Chapters, Delegates, and Affiliates around the globe.

IDA’s grassroots advocate network is a nimble and effective distributive network, capable of sharing best practices and tools while remaining locally attuned to specific geographic, political and demographic needs.

Our program empowers a network of advocates across the globe, find one near you! And learn more about how you can join IDA’s advocate network.

IDA Advocates

Map loading, please wait ...

IDA Chapters

Statewide Chapters

Name of ChapterChapter DirectorChapter WebsiteEmailState
IDA ColoradoRyan Parkeridacolorado.xyzryan.parker@darksky.orgColorado
IDA ConnecticutLeo Smith leo@smith.netConneticut
IDA MassachusettsJames Lowenthalhttps://idamass.wordpress.comIDAMassachusetts@darksky.orgMassachussets
IDA MissouriDonald Fickendarkskymissouri.orgidamissouri@darksky.orgMissouri
IDA MontanaJohn Ashleymontana.darksky.ngoinfo.montana@darksky.orgMontana
IDA OhioTerry Mannohio.darksky.ngoIDAOhio@darksky.orgOhio
IDA OregonBill Kowalikdarkskyoregon.orgidaoregon@darksky.orgOregon
IDA PennsylvaniaMichael Lincolnhttps://www.idapgh.org/mikelincoln@mac.comPennsylvania
IDA TexasCindy Cassidytexas.darksky.ngoidatexas@darksky.orgTexas
IDA UtahAaron Dekeyzerutah.darksky.ngoidautah@darksky.orgUtah

Regional Chapters – USA

Chapter NameChapter DirectorChapter emailState
Flagstaff Dark Skies CoalitionLance Diskan & Christian B. Luginbuhlinfo@flagstaffdarkskies.orgArizona
IDA PhoenixChrista Sadleridaphxarea@gmail.comArizona
IDA Pinal County, ArizonaKeith Kruegerpinalida@q.comArizona
IDA Southern ArizonaJoe Franneajoef@sa-ida.orgArizona
IDA CaliforniaJack Salesjesales@surewest.netCalifornia
IDA San Bernardino County, California – High Deserts RegionTom O’Keyscdvainfo@gmail.comCalifornia
IDA San Diego County, CaliforniaJohn Freeseinfo@sd-darksky.orgCalifornia
IDA Santa Barbara County, CaliforniaNancy Emersonfnemerson@comcast.netCalifornia
IDA Santa Cruz, CaliforniaMark Buxbaumidasantacruzca@gmail.comCalifornia
IDA Dark Sky Lake WorthRichard Stowe
Alice McCall
darkskylw@gmail.comFlorida
IDA FloridaDiana Umpierre, AICP, GISPNightSkyConservancy@gmail.comFlorida
IDA South FloridaBryan Bodie
Eric Vandernoot
info@idasouthflorida.orgFlorida
IDA HawaiiHoward Wiig & Dr. Richard Wainscoathwiig@dbedt.hawaii.gov
rjw@ifa.hawaii.edu
Hawaii
IDA Central IllinoisJesse Hooverhooveje@gmail.comIllinois
Northwest IllinoisZoran Perovanovichperovanovich@me.comIllinois
IDA Erie and Crawford CountySusan Campbellerieskies@gmail.comIndiana
IDA South Central KentuckyChristine Humphreyhelpfulhumphrey@gmail.comKentucky
IDA Berrien CountyKelly Schmitt Youngbergkellyyoungberg@gmail.comMichigan
IDA Duluth, MinnesotaCindy Hakalagent0040@umn.eduMinnesota
IDA New YorkSusan Hardersharder@optonline.netNew York
IDA Westchester CountyCharles Fulcosaros61@gmail.comNew York
IDA North CarolinaProf. Daniel B. Catoncatondb@appstate.eduNorth Carolina
IDA South DakotaDiane Knutsoninfo@darkskymovement.orgNorth Dakota
Pennsylvania Outdoor Lighting Council (POLC)Stan Stubbepolcouncil@gmail.comPennsylvania
IDA Central TennesseeJoseph Boydboydjoe@alumni.vanderbilt.eduTennessee
IDA Western TennesseeRebecca Lovedarksky@aberevol.netTennessee
IDA VirginiaLaura Kitchin Greenleaf & Laura Grahamlaura@darkvirginiasky.orgVirginia
Dark Skies NorthwestDavid Ingramingramdw@hotmail.comWashington
IDA Washington, D.C.Milt Roneymjroney@starpower.net
Washington, D.C.
Geneva Lake Dark Sky InitiativeColin Griffithcolingriffith94@gmail.comWisconsin

Regional Chapters – International

Chapter NameChapter DirectorChapter emailCountry
IDA TasmaniaLandon Bannisterpresident@darkskytas.orgAustralia
IDA Victoria AustraliaJudith Baileypresident@darkskyvic.orgAustralia
IDA AustriaDr. Günther Wuchterl
Verein
verein@kuffner-sternwarte.atAustria
IDA Québec, CanadaEric Ladouceurinfo@IDAQuebec.orgCanada
IDA Southern AlbertaJennifer Howsejihowse@ucalgary.caCanada
The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada
 dsp.coordinator@edmontonrasc.com
lightpollution@edmontonrasc.com
Canada
IDA Beijing, ChinaRuoyu Listarrrryl@gmail.comChina
IDA Guangdong Province, ChinaDaobo “Paul” Zhangpaulzhang98@163.comChina
IDA Shanghai, ChinaFei Guoguofei@hotmail.com
fei.guo@139.com
China
Dark Sky CyprusPhedias HadjicharalambousInfo@cyprusastronomy.org
phediascao@gmail.com
Cypress
IDA Czech RepublicDr. Jan Hollanhollan@ped.muni.czCzech Republic
IDA GermanyAndreas Hänelinfo@lichtverschmutzung.deGermany
Dark Sky GreeceAndreas Papalambroucoordinator@darksky.grGreece
IDA HungaryZoltán Kolláthzkollath@gmail.comHungary
IDA IndiaArun Georgeidaindiachapter@gmail.comIndia
IDA PunjabJaskaran Singhjaskaran140391@gmail.comIndia
Dark Sky IrelandAlbert Whiteinfo@darksky.ieIreland
IDA Mayo, IrelandGeorgia MacMillanmayodarkskies@gmail.comIreland
IDA IsraelIdo Bareketinfo@bareket-astro.comIsreal
IDA ItalyDr. Mario Di Soramario.disora@himail.bizItaly
IDA Tokyo, JapanNobuaki Ochiochi@idatokyo.orgJapan
Light Pollution Awareness GroupAlexei Pacealexei.pace@gmail.comMalta
IDA MéxicoFernando Ávila Castrofavilac@astrosen.unam.mxMexico
IDA Daegu GyeongBuk KoreaWonkil Jeongdavid@dhu.ac.krSouth Korea
Dark Sky SwitzerlandLukas Schuleroffice@darksky.chSwitzerland

IDA Affiliates

Name of AffiliateAffiliate DirectorContact InformationStateCountry
Arkansas Natural Sky AssociationBruce McMathbruce.mcmath@gmail.comArkansasUSA
The Texas Night Sky FestivalCindy Cassidyclc.tnsf@gmail.comTexasUSA
Wyoming StargazingSamuel SingerSamuel@WyomingStargazing.orgWyomingUSA